Reviews



Townhouse - Rating 5/5

As ever Hugh and Christine run a wonderfully relaxing and pleasant B n B. If youra racing fan I don't think there's a book been written about the great sport that Hugh doesn't have in his library . The prefect spot for racing fans passing through the borders

Reviewer:Dale T | Fri 21st Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Stay - Rating 5/5

The owner of the hotel (Christine) was very attentive and made our stay most enjoyable. The room and food were lovely. Can not fault our stay. We would highly recommend to any of our friends and family.

Reviewer:Gemma S | Thu 30th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Excellent Central Accommodation - Rating 5/5

Christine and Hugh made us very welcome from the first moment we arrived. Gave us lots of useful information about the local and surrounding areas. Breakfast was excellent including lots of home made fruit-based dishes. Enormous bed-very comfortable. Extensive library-book readers paradise. Only draw-back being bedroom on second floor with circular staircase-perhaps a bit trickyfor less-able guests. Hostess more than happy to help with luggage. Lots of eating places within 200-300 yds walking-some much nearer.

Reviewer:Campbell M | Sat 7th Jul 2018 | 5 months ago


a unique B&B - Rating 5/5

This is a gorgeous B& B. Breakfast is superb, and our room was spotlessly clean and very quiet. The beautiful decor with pictures and book-lined shelves, and the charming, attentive hosts, create a lovely atmosphere that makes you feel more like guests in a private house.

Reviewer:Lucy L | Sat 23rd Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Beautiful B&B - Rating 5/5

What a fantastic guest house right in the centre of Kelso. Superbly decorated and furnished and exceptionally clean and comfortable. Huge, comfy bed in our huge bedroom. Christine and Hugh were wonderful hosts. Hugh even took the trouble to find for me 2 books from their vast library that he thought would be of interest(and they were). Lovely breakfasts. Would highly recommend The Townhouse to all.

Reviewer:Tim E | Thu 19th Apr 2018 | 8 months ago


4th stay at The Townhouse - Rating 5/5

We have just returned from another 2 night stay at The Townhouse, our 4th visit. Outside it was freezing but inside we received a warm welcome, as always. Our room was delightful, our breakfasts delicious, and our hosts very generous with their advice and local knowledge. We look forward to our next visit with complete confidence in the restorative powers of The Townhouse!

Reviewer:David M | Fri 16th Feb 2018 | 10 months ago


Wonderful Hospitality - Rating 5/5

A warm welcome and a lovely overnight stay. Christine and Hugh deliver an ideal B& B experience - genuine hospitality, local knowledge, charming characterful accommodation, attention to detail and a great central location. Our room was spacious and comfortable and the breakfast perfect.

Reviewer:Alison R | Sun 19th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


We\'ll be back - Rating 5/5

Beautiful accommodation, great location, fantastic hosts, comfiest bed ever, we'll be back!

Reviewer:Mrs. Sue W | Tue 17th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Always a very nice experience with lovely hosts.

Reviewer:DG M | Mon 9th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


I nightstay - Rating 5/5

Excellent location, very clean , room spacious and bed comfortable. Breakfast goodWell received by the owner who clearly takes looking after her customers a priority

Reviewer:Charles R | Fri 22nd Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Townhouse- Kelso- Rating 5/5

The perfect spot to spend a few days in the borders. Christine and Hugh looked after us brilliantly. Rooms great breakfast excellent happy daystop marks

Reviewer:dale t | Wed 20th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


A little gem - Rating 5/5

Excellent 2 nights at The TownHouse. Very helpful hostess and a good breakfast! Treat yourself if you are in the area.

Reviewer:Martyn L | Sun 6th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely stay - Rating 4/5

Beautiful room, lovely breakfast and good host. Would recommend.

Reviewer:Ms. Lynette B | Tue 24th Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


Classy - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyed our short stay in this elegant building and book-lined home. Lovely room overlooking the square, and a first class breakfast added to by an interesting chat with our hostess.Kelso, and this often by-passed bit of the Borders, well worth the trip.Enjoyed Rutherford's micro-pub for the beer and craic as well as counting the large number of independent establishments selling Barbour jackets, hair-dos and hardware. A recommended place to pause or stay longer on an Anglo-Scots journey.

Reviewer:Mr. Nigel A | Thu 5th Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely stay- Rating 5/5

This was a lovely place to stay, great location in the centre of Kelso but not too noisy. Our room was lovely with a very comfy bed! Christine was very friendly and made a great breakfast! Would definitely recommend!

Reviewer:Amy L | Tue 3rd Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


The Townhouse, Kelso - Rating 5/5

Absolutely delightful B& B. The rooms are charming, the breakfasts delicious and Christine is attentive, friendly and helpful. Fabulous two day break- would highly recommend the both the B& B and Kelso!

Reviewer:Julie Y | Sat 31st Dec 2016 | 1 year ago


Great Experience - Rating 5/5

Everything was great

Reviewer:Andrea B | Thu 3rd Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Great Experience - Rating 5/5

Everything was great

Reviewer:Andrea B | Thu 3rd Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Fabulous weekend / Kelso Races - Rating 5/5

What a gem the Townhouse is. Really lovely room super comfortable bed and great location. We were looked after by staff really well and told us where best food and drink was to be had. A fabulous weekend with great location and fab breakfasts. Many thanks our stay was superb.

Reviewer:Alison V | Tue 25th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Amazing stay at The Townhouse - Rating 5/5

Stayed at The Townhouse this weekend as we were going to the races in Kelso.It's in a great location, only £5 in a taxi to the race course, the house itself is stunning and Lorraine was a fantastic host!We've booked again for next year :)

Reviewer:Stephen D | Mon 24th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Truly Spoiled at Townhouse Kelso - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyed our two day break at this B& B while attending the races in Kelso.Could not fault a thing Lorraine who welcomed us is a real asset to your business,lovely personality and fantastic cook.Would not hesitate to recommend to friends and will return next time we are at the races.Thanks for sharing your lovely house with us.

Reviewer:Margaret T | Mon 24th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Our stay - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable, excellent breakfast, good location

Reviewer:Mr. Scott B | Wed 12th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Loved it - Rating 5/5

An amazing setting in the heart of Kelso friendly and informative owners who would do anything to help, i will be back

Reviewer:Stirling M | Fri 16th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Return stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed last year and came back again this year so I think that says we enjoyed our stay lovely room good breakfast friendly host and central position

Reviewer:Ann L | Sun 11th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


A delightful short stay - Rating 5/5

We loved The Townhouse. It is a remarkable and beautiful place in the very centre of Kelso. Our host, Christine, was very helpful and friendly and we had a lovely room and a tasty fresh-cooked breakfast. Our bikes were well housed too. Staying again is a certainty for us if we are in the area again.

Reviewer:David O | Wed 7th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


The Town House - Rating 4/5

Lovely Georgian town house sympathetically furnished and a warm welcome from the hosts. Number of stairs to second floor bedroom gets the heart pounding and not for the physically challenged.

Reviewer:David P | Wed 7th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Elegance in Kelso - Rating 5/5

A Georgian gem that's bang up to date in the centre of this ancient town. We couldn't have been made more welcome by the owner who gave us every assistance in finding our way round and about the area. Five stars seems a bit mean for this brilliant hotel with its comfy beds, gorgeous decor and sense of tranquility

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew M | Wed 7th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Wish we had stayed longer- Rating 5/5

Fantastic location, great building and rooms right in the centre of Kelso. Really friendly host and 1000's of book to read. Breakfast was brilliant and would have put any 5 star hotel to shame. Only wish we had stayed longer.

Reviewer:Stephen W | Wed 7th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Best place we have ever stayed - Rating 5/5

This is the second time we have stayed here, the first being Easter this year when we stayed for a short break. Having found such an amazing place we had no hesitation in booking it for our honeymoon. The landlady is wonderful, friendly and helpful, the breakfast is superb, and my wife would take the bed home it's that comfortable. What's more the location is brilliant, Kelso is lovely and it's ideal for visiting the border areas with it's abundance of attractions and places to go. We used the words 'next time' and 'when we come back' before we had even left, we couldn't recommend it more.

Reviewer:Mr. Ben R | Thu 1st Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


A lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

This is a superior guest house offering comfortable accommodation in a very convenient place. Would recommend it.

Reviewer:Mr. Hugh M | Sat 27th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Three night stay in August - Rating 5/5

Excellent elegant accommodation. Food was delicious. Breakfast in a lovely period dining room. Hosts friendly and welcoming. We would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Antony H | Thu 25th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Perfect! - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay at The Townhouse for three nights. Christine is a great host, helpful and informative. Nice rooms and a lovely breakfast. Quirky layout, but a nice change from Hotels.

Reviewer:Andrew B | Mon 22nd Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Superb Stay! - Rating 5/5

We booked to stay at The Town House, Kelso at short notice. Christine, is a welcoming hostess, who is a mine of useful local information.We stayed in a room called, The Square, which is a large room overlooking the centre of Kelso.It is furnished beautifully, as is the rest of the house.The bed was so comfortable. Breakfast was lovely, with a good selection of cold and hot food, served in the charming dining room.I would recommend The Town House to anyone looking for a base in The Borders.We will definitely be returning.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lesley G | Thu 18th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Townhouse Kelso - Rating 5/5

Thoroughy enjoyed our stay in Hogarth Room. Very quiet. Comfortable bed linen although mattress was a bit too soft for our liking ( personal opinion, not a complaint ). Very good cooked breakfast. Christine is a great host. Townhouse is beautiful and has lots of character. Would definately stay again.

Reviewer:Linda L | Sun 14th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


A lovely little gem. - Rating 5/5

We stayed two nights, spur of the moment at The Town House. Loved it. Quirky, unusual and full of character. Very comfortable and clean. Christine a warm and welcoming hostess. Her breakfast an absolute treat. High quality local produce and well presented in a lovely traditional dining room.We will return and I highly recommend this B and B to anyone wanting something rather unique and charming.

Reviewer:James M | Fri 12th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Perfect Location In Lovely Kelso - Rating 5/5

We spent 4 nights with Christine at the Townhouse and loved every moment. Nothing too much trouble for her guests and very well equipped rooms with fabulous pillows and definitely a book lovers paradise, don't miss a perfect place to make the Borders your base. We will be back.Martin & Florence

Reviewer:Martin R | Mon 8th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


11 out of 10! - Rating 5/5

A beautiful town house with a stunning room, called the square. A fantastic host that was most helpful and to top it off an amazing breakfast. Highly recommend this B& B!

Reviewer:Nicola L | Sat 6th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Kelso \'Hidden Gem\' - Rating 5/5

We picked the perfect weekend – our ‘Townhouse’ room overlooked the main square in Kelso, big enough to hold a dance in and extremely comfortable. Christine was the perfect host and the breakfasts were plentiful and tasty. A proper 5 star stay.

Reviewer:Iain M | Mon 25th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Great Weekend - Rating 5/5

Warm reception with quality accommodation. Breakfast excellent.

Reviewer:David B | Mon 25th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Fantastic- Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our stay in this lovely town house overlooking Kelso square. Excellent breakfast and fruendly host's, would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Lorraine G | Sat 23rd Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Townhouse, Kelso - Rating 5/5

Christine very welcoming, lovely room and breakfast.Very conveniently situated in the centre of town.

Reviewer:Eileen S | Fri 22nd Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Elegant and welcoming town house - Rating 5/5

Christine is a charming host who takes pride in her beautifully stylish home. Wonderful attention to detail and extraordinarily comfortable beds. Delicious breakfasts and Christine goes out of her way to provide for her guests.

Reviewer:Lulu C | Thu 30th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Townhouse, Kelso - Rating 5/5

A great find! The Townhouse is very elegant and comfortable and Christine was the perfect hostess. I would highly recommend it. Thanks and hope to see you again.

Reviewer:Mr. jamie r | Mon 27th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


The Town House Kelso - Rating 5/5

Spent three nights at the Town House. It was comfortable, Christine is a great host.Would thoroughly recommend a stay here

Reviewer:Glenn D | Fri 24th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


The Townhouse Kelso - Rating 5/5

We cannot fault The Townhouse. From the warm welcome and beautiful spacious bedrooms to the delicious breakfasts, every detail has been addressed. Guests` comfort and satisfaction are key. We have stayed on two occasions and will definitely return.

Reviewer:David M | Wed 22nd Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Perfect B&B- Rating 5/5

Welcoming hosts, beautiful room and superb breakfast. What more could you want?

Reviewer:Allison J | Tue 21st Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Most enjoyable- Rating 5/5

The Townhouse is a truly lovely place to stay, a touch luxury served up with class. Christine was attentive without being too intrusive a thoroughly enjoyable experience, highly recommend, looking forward to staying at the Townhouse again.

Reviewer:Peter C | Tue 21st Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


5 Star Townhouse Stay- Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation..Lovely welcome from Christine..was here on a golf break and my brother in law Kevin and I were well looked after..a real homely feel to the beautiful house..lovely breakfast..we shall return..Kind regards David

Reviewer:David M | Sun 19th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely - Rating 4/5

Lovely house, delightful room in very pleasant surroundings.

Reviewer:Paul F | Tue 14th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Extremely friendly and welcoming - Rating 5/5

We had a great stay at the townhouse. Our room has fantastic, the shower was amazing!!My partner had the cooked breakfast in the morning and he raved about it all the way home, everything was fresh and cooked perfectly. We will definitely stay there the next time we are in Kelso, hopefully we will have a win at the races!!!

Reviewer:Jill W | Tue 31st May 2016 | 2 years ago


Ideal - Rating 4/5

Stayed at The Town House while up at an event in Floors Castle - it was in a fantastic and convenient location, helpful hosts, a beautiful building with well appointed rooms and the breakfast was second to none with quality produce, will definitely return.

Reviewer:Oliver T | Sat 14th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Townhouse kelso - Rating 5/5

Thank you for helping to makie our weekend in Scotland so memorable. Beautiful house,lovely breakfast and comfy bed.definately our first port of call on our next visit.

Reviewer:Mrs. Josephine W | Fri 29th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Business turned into pleasuře - Rating 5/5

What was a journey to Kelso for business became a thoroughly enjoyable two day break thanks to the customer and the very kind couple who own the Town House. This is a B& B which is better than a five star hotel if you like living a Georgian life style of luxury and comfort.The bed was the best ever and the owners treat you like friends dropping by for a couple of days.All in allit made the bisit to Kelso extremely memerable.

Reviewer:Anthony B | Thu 21st Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Super - Rating 5/5

Excellent location, comfortable,cozy and functional room with superb en-suite. The Townhouse is a lovely spacious residence with authentic period features and a homely ambience. Superb breakfast and hospitality.

Reviewer:Les C | Tue 19th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Wonderful. - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay at the Townhouse, to put it simply everything was superb. Without question we would recommend the Townhouse to anyone and we will be going back. Thank you for an amazing holiday.

Response

Its very kind of you to take the time to leave a comment -thank you so much for your lovely words.Christine

Reviewer:Ben R | Mon 4th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


\"LovelyHouse in the Town\"!!! - Rating 5/5

We booked the Townhouse for an Anniversary Break and were absolutely delighted with our choice whilst touring about.Our hosts Christine and Hugh could not have been more helpful and were very affable.The Bed was really comfortable and Breakfasts were 1st class !! Delicious!!We loved our stay there and will be backMany thanksMike/Jo

Reviewer:Michael L | Fri 1st Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Quaint and comfortable - Rating 4/5

This is a delightful quaint period town property is lovingly and well maintained.the breakfast is excellent served in a beautifully kept dining room we enjoyed our stay and recommend it.

Reviewer:Annette B | Mon 28th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Kelso - Rating 5/5

Lovely warm welcome at The Townhouse Kelso accommodation and breakfastexcellent. Fab central location.

Reviewer:Elizabeth H | Mon 28th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Fab stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed at the townhouse on saturday, it is absoultely amazing, beautiful room, well not really a room, more like four room rolled into one, christine who owns the townhouse is so warm and welcoming when u arrive, had brilliant stay will definelty go back , fab breakfast in the morning, nothing was a problem ,best b and b ever been in, not really an appropriate name though b and b, its far more than that, can't wait for next time

Reviewer:Sharon O | Mon 7th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Georgian elegance in the heart of Kelso - Rating 5/5

A great place to stay in the centre of Kelso. Very welcoming and helpful host, and excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:Elizabeth M | Mon 28th Dec 2015 | 2 years ago


Top class B & B - Rating 5/5

my husband and I have spent one night at the Townhouse Kelso for business and visiting friends. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable, not to mention the tasteful decor and beautiful furnishing. Breakfast was cooked to order and of good quality. Christine was friendlyand a good host, we will definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Peggy D | Fri 6th Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


Ma- Rating 1/5

Good central B& B. Friendly,comfortable and great breakfast

Reviewer:Marian A | Mon 2nd Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


Mar - Rating 4/5

Central location.Friendly and comfortable with great breakfast.

Reviewer:Marian A | Mon 2nd Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent B & B in great location - Rating 5/5

Lovely room and friendly host, great breakfast in excellent location on the town square

Reviewer:Karl F | Tue 6th Oct 2015 | 3 years ago


Perfect place in Kelso - Rating 5/5

- very well kept place, comfortable bathroom- very nice and welcoming hosts- excellent breakfast- ample parking space

Reviewer:Mr. Georg B | Mon 31st Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


An excellent Bed and Breakfat - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay at The Townhouse. It is situated right on Kelso's main town square and a large range of attractions are within easy walking distance. The Townhouse is very clean and tidy. Christina's breakfasts were much appreciated, especially the excellent local sausages and bacon. Christina was also a fund of local knowledge and tourist type information which was very useful to us as we had never been to this area before.

Reviewer:John S | Thu 27th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Kelso a lovely Georgian friendly town- Rating 5/5

We stayed at the townhouse this last weekend.A througherly warm welcome was received.Great room and comfy super bed and a good nights sleep. Awoke to the smells of fresh bacon and of the town hall clock. Great. Christine made our stay super.Had dinner just across the road again good.Would recommend.

Reviewer:Nigel G | Mon 17th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Gem of a hotel in lovely town of Kelso - Rating 5/5

What a wonderful find. Christine was a charming host. Bedroom comfortable in this stunning Georgian B and B. Loved the decor and uniqueness . Tasty breakfast as well

Reviewer:Penny B | Sat 15th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


A wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed here for one night and were really impressed by the beautiful room and the flexible and kind nature of the host.The location is perfect and there was a safe place to keep the car.

Reviewer:Morven M | Wed 12th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


The Townhouse is a delight! - Rating 5/5

I was in Kelso on business and my stay at The Townhouse was for only one night but it was a delightful stay. Thanks you very much Christine for a great welcome and the wonderful room that you provided overlooking the square. The building has a real Georgian feel and is the ultimate in B& B comfort. It was more like being a private guest in a rather grand house than any standard B& B I've ever been in. With a wonderful breakfast the following morning. More more could anyone ask? Clean, comfortable, quiet. an excellent sleep in a king sized comfortable bed. I'm definitely returning and bringing my wife next time for a couple of days in the Kelso area, which is also beautiful. Many thanks. Malcolm

Reviewer:Malcolm C | Fri 7th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Well recommended - Rating 5/5

Beautifully appointed guesthouse with lovely atmosphereVery friendly and relaxing. Bedt bed ever !

Reviewer:Dominic L | Mon 3rd Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


A super weekend - Rating 5/5

Thank you for a lovely weekend. Nothing was too much trouble and I would thoroughly recommend that anyone staying in Kelso first contact Christine Vincent. Get in early as it comes as no surprise that she is a very popular hostess.

Reviewer:Barry D | Tue 23rd Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Stylish comfort in Kelso - Rating 5/5

We stayed for 3 nights in this charming and comfortable B& B.It is furnished and decorated in keeping with its Georgian origins but is not stuffy.The freshly cooked breakfasts are top quality and Christine could not be more helpful and friendly.People with mobility difficulties should be aware that there are a lot of stairs.Free parking in a nearby public area was always available and safe. Kelso is an attractive town well placed for exploring the Scottish Borders and Northumberland.

Reviewer:Alec M | Sat 20th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Charming and comfy - Rating 5/5

Christine makes the perfect host of this small but very charming and comfy b and b.Right on the town square and convenient within quick driving time of all tweed valley sights.We were impressed with Abbotsford, and aome of the manor homea and gardens in the area. including floors castles which is walkable.

Reviewer:Paul D | Sun 7th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Fantastic Location - Rating 4/5

Christine is a wonderful host, eager to assist in any way.The town of Kelso is old and charming and well located for seeing Abbeys and Castles;as is the Town House.We are fit and so the stairs were not a problem at all, but this accomodation is unfortunately not right for those w mobility issues.

Reviewer:Allan S | Mon 1st Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Fab stay! - Rating 5/5

Very enjoyable stay at The Townhouse! From the moment we arrived, Christine couldn't do enough to make our stay a pleasant one. Allowed in our room early. Made breakfast earlier on our last day so we could get away on a bank holiday. Room was top floor overlooking the square and was excellent! Would stay here again!! Thank you!

Reviewer:Pete L | Wed 27th May 2015 | 3 years ago


super hotel - Rating 4/5

Stayed for two night, fabulous host Christine. The room was different to the one we booked but just as beautiful. Nothings too much trouble.

Reviewer:Joanne C | Mon 25th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Good find - Rating 5/5

Excellent situation and standard.

Reviewer:DAVID T | Fri 8th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Townhouse - Rating 4/5

Lovely stay Christine the owner was lovely the room was very clean and the bed was lovely and comfortable but a bit cold I also thought the TV was very small for the size of the room but overall had a lovely pleasant stay and would definatly stay again

Reviewer:Mr D C | Tue 5th May 2015 | 3 years ago


stay at the Town House 030515 - Rating 5/5

This was a very clean,tidy and friendly Guest House. The room was very well equipped and had a good view of the Town.Although it looked onto the Town square it was very quiet.The breakfast was vey nice to and the owner was very informative as to eating establishments within Kelso area.Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Andrew D | Tue 5th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Townhouse kelso - Rating 5/5

Excellent place to stay and excellent hosts one of the best places we have stayed.

Reviewer:Stephen H | Thu 23rd Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Beautiful Accomodation- Rating 5/5

Stayed in the attic room. Great hosts and felt at ease as soon as we arrived. Left to our own devices which I love and the place is situated in a fabulous location. Felt like home from home.

Reviewer:Pauleen O\\\' D | Wed 15th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Delightful-stunning-delicious- Rating 5/5

What a delightful hostess Christine makes! Her house is stunning. Tha Georgian decoration is attractive and compliments the tasty breakfast experience We were so comfortable and made very welcome. Would certainly recommend this B and B.

Reviewer:Marion C | Wed 15th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Wonderful upmarket B7B in Kelso - Rating 5/5

The Town House occupies a wonderful position on the market square in Kelso, with some rooms having views across the square. The B& B couldn't be faulted really...great room, great bed, great shower, lovely owner on hand...perfect breakfast.....all at a price, but quality does not come cheap....we would both head back if in the area. Keep it up :-)

Reviewer:Brian H | Sun 29th Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


Fantastic Experience - Rating 5/5

What a charming B& B in a beautiful town.The bed was the comfiest I have ever slept in, the shower was lovely and Christine was very friendly and helpful.My colleague and I both had great breakfasts (would highly recommend the smoked salmon with scrambled egg) and enjoyed all the kooky features of the house.Would not hesitate to recommend.

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Townhouse - glad you liked the bed!Regards Christine

Reviewer:Michelle H | Tue 10th Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


Ideal base - Rating 5/5

Going racing great place to finish off.Convenient and stylish.

Reviewer:DAVID T | Fri 13th Feb 2015 | 3 years ago


Great Stay in a Great Place - Rating 4/5

I was excellent. Finding it easy peasy ( even in the dark) gettig parked was simple too ona bust friday night at that. Warm welcome great hosts( they even supplied some unexpected excitement on the saturday night too.:-)Breakfat great and what it needs to be from a lady who really knows how to cook an egg!!.Would we go back...Oh Aye!!Yes to those who are confused by that.Tommy & ClarePS the 4 instead of 5 I hear you ask? only because our room did not have an ensuite, we did book very late andit was though still great more like a 4.5

Reviewer:Mr. TommyC | Sun 9th Nov 2014 | 4 years ago


Happy Weekend - Rating 5/5

Our weekend was just like home from home. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming. We would fully recommend it. And can't wait to go back next year.

Reviewer:Gill D | Mon 13th Oct 2014 | 4 years ago


In the centre of Kelso - Rating 5/5

This is a great B& B with great breakfasts.We especially liked the smoked salmon in scrambled egg.The room was comfortable and elegantly decorated. The bed was huge and snuggly. Our host was charming, intelligent and very helpful when it came to choosing a place for dinner in Kelso and for advice on the surrounding area. And quite a collection of superior, second-hand books. Definitely a place to return to.

Reviewer:Bernard T | Mon 6th Oct 2014 | 4 years ago


Racing Weekend - Rating 5/5

Stayed for two nights whilst going to Kelso Races. Lovely room, good location and friendly staff.Would not hesitate to recomend to others.

Reviewer:Karl F | Sun 5th Oct 2014 | 4 years ago


Very good find - Rating 4/5

Had a good 2 days at the Townhouse whilst tracing ancestors in Scotland.Christine made us so very welcome and couldn't do enough for us.The only reason I would not give it 5 stars is because although our bathroom was private, it was not en-suite.However this would not stop me staying there again, if I was ever in this neck of the woods.

Reviewer:James J | Fri 26th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


Townhouse - Rating 5/5

Truly spectacular house, excellent food and service, couldn't have wished for better!

Reviewer:Richard H | Mon 22nd Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


Yes or No - Rating 5/5

Always a worry when assessing a stay in what might have been a foreign country.This time the ayes won oot.Even Alex Salmond would feel at home here.

Reviewer:DAVID T | Fri 19th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


Quiet - Rating 4/5

Despite town centre location this was a very quiet and comfortable B& B. Full of character and traditional furniture. Bed was comfy, but hard pillows. We weren't fortunate enough to have an ensuite and would have much preferred that and a shower, not a bath, but the bathroom was large and warm.Average breakfast, quite a limited cold choice and my husband wasn't over impressed with his scrambled egg and bacon. As usual coffee, tea and toast arrives too early and is cold by the time the hot food comes:why do both B& Bs, hotels and tea shops do that?

Response

Thank you for your feedback I'm glad you liked the room all be it that you would have preferred a room with a shower.If you make a return visit book The square I think this room would better suit your needs, and I'll try harder with the bacon and eggs!I've noted your comments about when the tea and toast arrive I always assume that guests would rather have a coffee or tea whilst waiting for their breakfast to be prepared, as I cook to order it can take ten mins before any food arrives.As you weren't eating a cooked breakfast but your husband was I thought you would prefer to have your toast earlier rather than wait until I brought his. However I shouldn't have assumed that was what you wanted and should instead have asked you, please accept my apologies.

Reviewer:Ailsa_russell@btopenworld.com R | Thu 18th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


perfect! - Rating 5/5

a genuinely warm welcome in a central and beautifully furnished room with private bathroom. excellent breakfast. no lift but i didn't need one and i have no doubt i would have been helped with my bags had it been necessary. highly recommended

Reviewer:Mike L | Mon 15th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


Great stay - Rating 4/5

Great welcome from Christine,fantastic location ,fantastic room with a very comfy bed.We would highly recommend the Town House

Reviewer:Brian And Amanda T | Thu 28th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Perfect- Rating 5/5

nothing more to add except thank you for a wonderful stay

Reviewer:Daniel H | Wed 27th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


kelso - Rating 5/5

an excellent property very clean with good sized bedroom and bathroom and good breakfast we would use the Townhouse if in the area

Reviewer:Ann P | Tue 26th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Good Find - Rating 4/5

Beautiful room, lovely lady, fabulous breakfast.Will stay here again.

Reviewer:Nicholas M | Fri 22nd Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Best Anniversary Ever! - Rating 5/5

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Townhouse for 4 nights from the 10th August for our 24th wedding anniversary. The room we stayed in was the "square"room, which was very spacious, featuring tall ceilings and an extremely comfortable, capacious bed which provided an excellent night's sleep. Also present in the room were the welcome addition of an ironing board, hair dryer and tea and coffee making facilities.The ensuite bathroom was perfectly clean and well equipped, the shower of particular note had fantastic water pressure.The property throughout was presented with genuine charm and appropriate decor, conveying a very 'homely' welcoming atmosphere which certainly appealed to our tastes.The host Christine was for us the standout highlight of our stay at the Town House. She was very attentive and did absolutely everything she could to make sure our stay was as pleasant as possible. Her breakfasts each morning were delicious, especially the variety of toasted breads and black pudding which was generously provided following a request the previous morning. The level of service truly reached unexpected heights when Christine even offered to lend us her car when ours had to be repaired.This is certainly one of the nicest anniversaries we have enjoyed together, I even managed to catch my first Salmon during our trip!We have previously stayed at competing hotels in the vicinity and we must conclude that the town house offered by far the greatest value for money and quality of service.Wholeheartedly recommended.

Reviewer:Daryl H | Fri 22nd Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Great Choice - Rating 5/5

We atayed at the Townhouse for a nights B& B in August 2014 - really comfortable room, friendly and helpful hostess, great location overlooking Kelso town square, very good breakfast and reasonable rates. Free parking available but a short distance away so transporting stuff from there to the front door (especially if raining)may be a problem for some. Otherwise pretty faultless. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Roderick T | Fri 22nd Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

The entrance sadly in no way reflected the quirky and elegant accommodation found at The Townhouse.Its situation in the centre of Kelso allowed an enjoyable car-free day and evening but we had a peaceful and most restful night in a wonderful huge bed.The excellent breakfast freshly cooked by host Christine set us up for our drive home to Durham.We will definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Pat C | Tue 12th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Thank you - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay and Christine was so welcoming. Bedroom fabulous. Breakfast freshly cooked and good quality along with fruit and cereals. Thank you, I will stay again.

Reviewer:Richard V | Mon 4th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Fantastic place - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay here.Very warm welcome, gorgeous building and decor, spotless and well located.Free parking, wifi and a superb breakfast.We will definitely be back.

Reviewer:Amanda T | Wed 16th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


townhouse - Rating 4/5

Loved the house, very clean, would go back, lovely person, who owns, it Christina, , could not do enough, to help, us msde us very welcomexxxxxxx

Reviewer:Alexander S | Fri 6th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


A racing cert. - Rating 5/5

As soon as we spotted the racing themed prints and art we knew we had backed a winner,and so it proved.

Reviewer:DAVID T | Thu 29th May 2014 | 4 years ago


James neilson - Rating 4/5

Very friendly land lady,great rooms with private bathroom lovely clean accomadation,breakfast was nice but a bit more would have been better overal 9/10 for facilitys and lovely views of main square

Reviewer:James N | Mon 26th May 2014 | 4 years ago


the townhouse - Rating 5/5

we found the townhouse to be an excellent choice everything was first class the room,food and hospitality would not hesitate to stay here again.It was also very convenient for the town centre right on the square look forward to staying again in 2015

Reviewer:Stephen B | Mon 26th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Weekend visit - Rating 5/5

Wonderful stay in a lovely Georgian B& B. Very comfortable room, beautifully furnished, very friendly welcome and delicious breakfast. Who could ask for more? Real quality.

Reviewer:Timothy P | Sun 13th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


A wonderful experience - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Townhouse. Our room and bathroom were immaculate and beautifully decorated, and we looked forward to a delicious breakfast each morning looking out over Kelso's old town square. Christine was welcoming and charming. Highly recommended!

Reviewer:Lois S | Tue 8th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Townhouse - Rating 5/5

Just back from weekend away and Christine was hostess with the mostess. Very warm and welcoming and the place is a gorgeous example of ye olde English interiors. Our room was circular, high ceilings, lovely detail in the pieces in the room from art to furniture and comfortable bed. Breakfast was satisfying and the rhubarb compote with orange zest was a real winner. Great location as in the centre of town and I'll be going back and taking friends and family with me.

Reviewer:Karen S | Sun 6th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Georgian Luxury - Rating 5/5

A warm and friendly welcome awaited me at The Town House. The room was spacious, well-proportioned and impeccably furnished. The bed was large and immensely comfortable.Breakfast, served in an elegant dining room over-looking the main square, was scrumptious and cooked to perfection.Highly recommended.

Response

Thank you so much for your kind words - much appreciated.Christine Vincent

Reviewer:Ian W | Mon 31st Mar 2014 | 4 years ago